“In order to succeed, we must first believe that we can.”

Image

I want to share a story with you tonight.

In my school you have to wait until you have two stripes on your white belt before you can roll with the rest of the students. It’s definitely a major mile marker in your jiu jitsu journey.  Similar to getting your license when you’re 16 or finally turning 21 so you can join your friends out at the bar. Only with Jiu Jitsu it’s earned, not given.

Last night I witnessed a student get his second stripe and watched from the sidelines, recovering from a knee injury, as he battled through his first rounds ever of Randori on the mats with his fellow peers. All those feelings I had when I received my second stripe came back to me.The feeling of being a goldfish jumping into a shark tank. As I watched sporadically while chatting with my coaches I could tell he was tired. I thought, this was a new level of cardio that he would soon get used to, he just had to make it through this day.

Then after a period of time something occurred to me. After many rounds this individual was the last person on the mats AND still going strong. Visibly tired but pushing through the pain. His days watching from behind the glass had finally paid off and his hunger to succeed overcame his desire to give up.

This is why I love this sport. It pushes people beyond their limits and helps them achieve that next level. I’m not just talking on the mats but also in life. Jiu Jitsu does that. It has a wonderful way of projecting what you accomplish and suffer through on the mats into the way you live your life. It’s a beautiful thing.

I’m sure this young man was sore when he went to bed last night, but I can guarantee he slept with a smile.

Congrats Adam. I look forward to our days to come as warriors.

Osu!

This entry was posted in Jiu Jitsu Way of Life! and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment